Formed in 1982, the Athens State University Foundation has served as a vehicle for donors seeking to provide financial support for the University and the students we serve in a manner consistent with the mission and goals of both entities.

The Foundation is registered with the IRS as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, and all gifts are tax-deductible as allowed by law. We are managed by a volunteer Board of Directors and staffed by University employees.

While state appropriations and tuition provide a base for University operations, the work of the Foundation is to support our students through scholarships, and the institution through funding initiatives that fall beyond the scope of base revenues. Donor intent is paramount with regard to all decisions supporting the success of our students. Whether your gift is cash or cash equivalents, in-kind, or a planned gift that will provide benefits at some future time, we are happy to discuss with you all of your alternatives and how your gift would be most beneficial, both to you and the institution.

For more information about the Foundation please contact us at (256) 233-8215 or via email at

Mr. Tommy Coblentz, President
Dr. Bill Hopkins, President-Elect, Class of ’90
Ms. Donna Coleman, Past-President, Chair of Development, Class of ’92
Ms. Kathy Garrett, Chair of Investment Committee, Class of ’81
Ms. Lisa Payne, Chair of Nominating Committee, Class of ’86
Dr. Keith Ferguson, Secretary/Treasurer, Ex Officio
Mr. Jeffery Abbott, Class of ’86
Mr. Dick Chittam, Class of ’73
Ms. Naomi DuBois, Class of ’80
Dr. Mike Essary
Mr. Jerry Evans
Mr. Mark Jackson
Mr. Tim Lovelace
Ms. U’Meeka Smith, Class of ’03
Mr. Joseph Southers, Class of ’03
The Honorable Charles C. Woodroof
Ms. Betty Ruth-Oliver, Ex Officio, Class of ’82
Dr. Catherine Wehlburg, Ex Officio

Prefer to mail your donation? Please send your check made payable to Athens State University Foundation to:

Athens State University Foundation
P.O. Box 70
Athens, AL 35612